The roots of customer experience management date all the way back to the 1960s. Kotler, Howard and Sheth developed the first theories about marketing and consumer behavior and researched the decision-making behavior of customers during the purchase process.

Today, in the era of digitalization, eroding business models and the search for the right answer to changing customer behavior, the active management of the customer experience is more important than ever before. The goal is to create positive customer experiences that build up an emotional connection between the brand and the customer. Only in this manner can customers be excited again and again and long-term loyalty be built up.

So far, so good. But where to start? Customer experience management must first be culturally embedded at the top management level. “Putting the customer at the center” must be more than just an empty statement, rather it requires thinking in customer journeys and touchpoint sequences. This entails far-reaching organizational, procedural and technological changes. Once these foundations are laid, individual customer needs must be anticipated and translated into valuable experiences. Last but not least, these must be continuously measured and optimized. This can also mean that an entire customer journey or individual elements must be re-thought, before the customer threatens to fall into the background. Despite all the emotionalization, “experiences” must ultimately be valued monetarily and must contribute positively to the company’s bottom line.

Learn more about our competences:


Janine Hagen
Tel +49 211 233 950-86

Die Wurzeln des Customer Experience Managements gehen bereits zurück in die 1960er Jahre. Kotler, Howard und Sheth entwickelten die ersten Theorien zum Marketing und Konsumentenverhalten und untersuchten dabei das Entscheidungsverhalten des Kunden im Kaufprozess.

Heute, im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung, erodierender Geschäftsmodelle und der Suche nach der richtigen Antwort auf das sich ändernde Konsumentenverhalten, ist das aktive Management der Customer Experience wichtiger denn je. Ziel ist es, positive Kundenerlebnisse zum Aufbau einer emotionalen Verbindung zwischen Marke und Kunden zu schaffen. Nur so können Kunden immer wieder begeistert und langfristig gebunden werden.  

Soweit, so gut. Aber wo anfangen? Customer Experience Management beginnt mit der kulturellen Verankerung im Top Management. „Den Kunden in den Mittelpunkt rücken“ darf nicht nur eine leere Hülle in der Unternehmensstrategie sein, sondern bedingt ganz konkret das (Neu-)Denken in Customer Journeys und Touchpoint Abfolgen. Dies erfordert zumeist weitreichende organisatorische, prozessuale und technologische Anpassungen. Sind diese Grundsteine gelegt, müssen die individuellen Kundenbedürfnisse antizipiert und in werthaltige Erlebnisse übersetzt werden. Zu guter Letzt müssen diese kontinuierlich gemessen und optimiert werden. Dies kann auch bedeuten, dass eine gesamte Customer Journey oder einzelne Bestandteile nach kurzer Zeit wieder neu gedacht werden müssen, bevor der Kunde droht, aus dem Mittelpunkt zu rücken. Trotz aller Emotionalisierung müssen auch „Erlebnisse“ am Ende monetär bewertbar sein und positiv zum Unternehmensergebnis beitragen.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Kompetenzen:

Ansprechpartner

Janine Hagen
Tel +49 211 233 950-86
janine.hagen@tailorit.de